13
Apr
11

A Mind Blinded

I’ve rarely been as profoundly touched by art as I was this past Friday at the Susanna Leinonen Company’s dance and media performance Sokea Mieli (Blinded Mind). All I knew from the performance beforehand was that it had received glowing references in one of the main newspapers in Finland; which doesn’t necessarily equal a glowing experience. This time it did — the performance lasted about an hour, but I could have kept watching. (Despite the fact that the seats at the studio stage at TaiK are really uncomfortable). I was captivated from start to finish.

Too bad: the show was sold out.

The performance was dark and passionate; intense. Everything was stripped to the bare essentials, and the sheer brilliance of the show was evident in every detail from music to lighting to quirky costumes; and most of all to the beautiful choreography. The performance was as passionate as it was muted. The performance was well-paced and the visual experience was simply stunning.

In case you’re inspired to see the Blinded Mind, and you happen to live at least close to Finland, you’re in luck. It will be showing in the Full Moon Dance Festival in Pyhäjärvi next July. Below, the trailer.

 

 

0 Responses to “A Mind Blinded”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Heard it through the grapevine:

  • @XplodingUnicorn Vanilla wins hands down. Chocolate ice cream is simply vile, and ever moreso if there are chocolate chips involved. 5 days ago
  • After my first ever facial, I'm smooth af & sporting the up-since-4 panda look. You could smuggle little monkeys in the bags under my eyes. 5 days ago
  • I came to this cafe and ordered an ice latte and cheesecake. The cheesecake is too sweet. I'm pretty sure I'm dying. #sugaraddiction 6 days ago
  • @darthzini Joku ajatushäiriö selkeesti! 6 days ago
  • My dog is with my friends, the snake's been fed, I'm having a crazy night of freedom and indulgence. Yeah, on Facebook. Crazy. 6 days ago

It Has Been Written:

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories

And guess what!

Give me all your money:


