09
Mar
11

Roaring dinosaurs

I just read an interesting argument on the Pirate Party forum. The large entertainment corporations are blaming piracy for their decrease in profits, but perhaps the fact that industry is changing is the main reason. The poster points out that freeware music is as high quality as commercially produced entertainment, so a lot of listeners are moving away from overpriced albums. The same poster pointed out that singles are far cheaper than entire albums, which is why people tend to spend money on singles. I already mentioned this, but I know I’ll rather pay less than an euro for the one song I actually want, and get a digital version while at it. In the same thread, another poster suggested that music culture is (again) moving toward live entertainment as the main attraction, recordings being the side product.

I’m not saying it’s true, but it’s food for thought anyway.

5 Responses to “Roaring dinosaurs”


  1. 1 Teraslilja
    March 9, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    Hi!

    That is true … at least in developing countries.

    http://yro.slashdot.org/story/11/03/07/180210/Piracy-In-Developing-Countries-Driven-By-High-Prices
    “the authors conclude that piracy is primarily driven by excessively high prices and that anti-piracy education and enforcement efforts have failed”

    The report itself: http://piracy.ssrc.org/the-report/

    TL

    • March 9, 2011 at 8:11 pm

      Thanks for the input :) I need to read that report, but not today… I decided to get high on sugar to numb the reality of a student life… :P
      After rent, phone bill and another small bill I’m left with 43,49€. It doesn’t even cover my therapy, but the fact that I go to therapy is a clear indicator that I live in a healthy developed welfare state. :D

  2. March 9, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    I hope it’s true! But what will *you* do as live entertainment?


Leave a Reply

Heard it through the grapevine:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

It Has Been Written:

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories

And guess what!

Give me all your money:


