21
Feb
11

Dating Ad Challenge: the results

Dating Ad Challenge is over, the ad is down, and one date had. I’m still in contact with one or two people by email, but not in a romantic sense.

How do I feel? Kind of relieved, actually. I know several people who found their partners via this service or another one like it, but I just can’t get comfortable with the process. I’m also not ready to date people just for the sake of dating. Maybe I’m naive (I know I’m picky), but I still believe my initial intuition is right – if he (or she) doesn’t seem compatible, I usually know pretty fast. I might like a person for his mind, and realise he might make a good friend. But if the chemistry isn’t there from the start, it’s not going to be there.

If you have other experiences, I’d love to know. Am I just being a fussy hussy?

So. My date today. We met for a tea/coffee and a film (I foolishly chose Burlesque; should have known better) and also had delicious Nepalese afterwards (Try Mount Everest at Lapinlahdenkatu 17 if you’re in Helsinki). It was nice to meet him, the only complaint I have – and, yes, this is unfair – is that he shares the first name with my father. Heh. We got along nicely and had a few laughs, had topics to discuss… so it wasn’t as bad as I feared it could be. My first impression is that we have potential to become friends, provided we actually keep having things to talk about.

 

And finally, statistics for the challenge (The numbers are estimates because I deleted the profile already. Duh.)

  1. Ads I replied to: 3
  2. Responses: 1
  3. Replies to my ad: 7-10, I think (I replied something to everyone but the one which arrived today. Too late, mate.)
  4. Strange people: 3
  5. Boring/standard replies: 2
  6. Interesting people: 4
  7. Rejections after seeing my photo: 1
  8. People I was instantly attracted to: 1 (see #7, obviously)
  9. People I wouldn’t mind being friends with: 3

Any questions?

0 Responses to “Dating Ad Challenge: the results”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Heard it through the grapevine:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

It Has Been Written:

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Categories

And guess what!

Give me all your money:


