08
Feb
11

It’s no life

Ah. Computers. Can’t live with them, can’t live without. So, I’ve been writing about the never-ending story about Mugen the laptop and the quest for a working computer. Let me reiterate quickly: I bought Mugen at the beginning of 2010. The problems started about half a year later with connectivity problems with the USB ports. First trip to the service plant in Poland was in November; the problem returned two weeks later. I had an onsite service man come in and change the motherboard. About a month later, the laptop refused to boot. Back to Poland. A week after the return, the problem reoccurred. This time, I sent a rather sarcastic reclamation to HP, and negotiated a new laptop. This took, what, three or four weeks.

And the most amazing thing happened. OK, aside from the bit where it was being delievered to the wrong address, but never mind that. Woo. New lappy. New double screen setup with new desk in my room. Reinstalling everything, again. Not so woo. The next morning. The laptop. Refused. To. Start.

Eventually, with a call to the technical help, this was fixed. Except for the part where I have to remove power and everything attached to USB ports between every boot. Yeah. I’m in discussion with the tech desk again, but let me tell you… Not for long.

I swear, this is the last time I’m placing my bets on HP products. And please, I don’t care if your HP has been working without problems for three billion years. Clearly, there’s some bad karma here!

2 Responses to “It’s no life”


  1. February 8, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    Well actually, I’ve got a company laptop, an HP, and it’s breaking down gradually. First, the backlight flickered. This got worse over time, and I had to disconnect the light sensor that adjusted the backlight. Mouse buttons have big dents in them from my nails. At random times all the touch-buttons above the keyboard start flashing, volume gets muted and unmuted repeteadly, then starts going lower and higher randomly, but always ending at 100%, making me race towards the pause button in whatever video or sound app I’m using. Hitting the laptop often makes the flashing stop.

    My previous HP had a CD player that, even though it was never in use, would fail from the slightest touch, and cause long hangs of the computer.


Leave a Reply

Heard it through the grapevine:

It Has Been Written:

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Categories

And guess what!

Give me all your money:


