11
Nov
10

Vintage, punk!

I’m hopelessly in love with steampunk. There’s just something about the style that says “Yes indeed, old fellow, we are jolly well going to kick exterior on this here airship. Tea?” For a long time, I’ve been pining for a pair of good old pantaloons to go with my frilly petticoats – winter is approaching, after all. Last week, I got my wish as I turned an old bedsheet, some lace, an old skirt and an old men’s shirt into three pairs of pantaloons and a frilly skirt!

Steampunk skirt

All set for the airship adventure

Yes, that’s me in the photos. I also shot them. That cloning machine came in handy, after all… I can’t walk three metres on those shoes, though.

This is a first for me on a lot of things: sewing projects*, complicated skirt design**, wearing something this extremely styled in public and feeling fairly comfortable with it. Well, OK, except for the bit that the skirt ended up being a bit too large, and since it’s fairly heavy, it tends to slide southward. Some sort of a corset part, or failing that, an elastic band, is in the plans. I’ve always been more comfortable with a hammer and a blowtorch (and man do those midgets run!) than thread and that tiny pointy metal object… And now I’m all for getting a sewing machine of my own! Mum’s carefully ecstatic***: first I learn to crochet, then to knit, and now sewing! Who knows, maybe I’ll get a husband next!!

Ah, steampunk. Urban Dictionary (which is like Wikipedia only without moderation. I thought I’d do something different for a change!) has several useful definitions for your perusal:

Steampunk is a subgenre of speculative fiction, usually set in an anachronistic Victorian or quasi-Victorian alternate history setting. It could be described by the slogan “What the past would look like if the future had happened sooner.” It includes fiction with science fiction, fantasy or horror themes.

UD acknowledges Steampunk as a fashion statement:

Often characterized by modifying one’s electronic gadgets to make them look a century out-of-date.Not to be confused with Renaissance re-enactors, who claim to eschew technology entirely; steampunks love fiddly gears and shiny.

And my favourite:

A former goth who suddenly discovered the color brown.
Well, I never was a goth, and I still don’t wear brown, but you get the idea. I do love fiddly gears and shiny things, and I love the grease- and copper smell of adventure, mixed with a sense of jolly well doing whatever one wants to do, while minding our manners. Impeccable ruggedness. Mixing genres. I think steampunk appeals to my sense of romanticism and my love for history. And of course, airships are awesome.
* I made a skirt once from a pair of trousers, but that doesn’t count.
** Really I just made it up as I was working.
*** I ask her for help/advice a lot. I make no plans beforehand. She’s an old lady. I mostly work with black. Figure it out. :D
2 Responses to “Vintage, punk!”


  1. 1 Ivo
    March 10, 2011 at 1:52 am

    OMG! You have a pocketwatch? Coolness! Also, I’m sure you’ve seen it, but in case you haven’t, have you seen http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/ ?

    (As you might be able to tell from my comments, I’m reading backward through the posts.)

    • March 10, 2011 at 9:53 am

      I certainly do have a pocketwatch! Actually, the new on in the pic is broken (cheap shit!) but now I’m using the actual vintage pocket watch I happen to be in possession of. :D

      I have a vague recollection of checking girl genius out but I think I didn’t like it… Maybe it was just the drawing style? :)


Leave a Reply

Heard it through the grapevine:

It Has Been Written:

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

And guess what!

Give me all your money:


