03
Nov
10

The Man From Earth (2007)

Last night, I watched a Richard Schenkman film called The Man From Earth, recommended by the Karlsson clan as an excellent film that happens in one room. The premise of the film is really interesting; a 14 000 year old man reveals his lifespan to a group of friends, who happen to be experts in anthropology, archeology, biblical literature, biology, psychology… I enjoyed the portrayal of reactions of the individuals – kudos for the actors – as well as the idea of the film. It takes a really, really good story to make a film like this to work. This one did. The dialogue held my attention right off the bat (despite the overacting on part of John Billingsley), and as a geek of all kinds, the story captured my imagination.

At the end of the film, I was left wanting more. I think that was the idea, but at the same time, it made me wonder if the film was lacking in something? The one revelation, which I’ll not spoil, might be enough of a shock to some people to carry the whole story. I’ve done enough comparative studies (which is just a fancy way of saying I like reading stuff) to have noticed the similarities in certain things, so I wasn’t blown off my feet. I wanted … more. A man who has lived for 14 000 years; surely he would have more insight than just ‘they keep making the same mistakes over and over again’? It’s possible, also, that it’s just the geek in me talking.

Overall: great film from a psychological, social, historical, cinematographical point of view. I’ve always said I like films that make me think; this one fired up my imagination, if nothing else. Duly recommended.

0 Responses to “The Man From Earth (2007)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Heard it through the grapevine:

  • @XplodingUnicorn Vanilla wins hands down. Chocolate ice cream is simply vile, and ever moreso if there are chocolate chips involved. 5 days ago
  • After my first ever facial, I'm smooth af & sporting the up-since-4 panda look. You could smuggle little monkeys in the bags under my eyes. 5 days ago
  • I came to this cafe and ordered an ice latte and cheesecake. The cheesecake is too sweet. I'm pretty sure I'm dying. #sugaraddiction 6 days ago
  • @darthzini Joku ajatushäiriö selkeesti! 6 days ago
  • My dog is with my friends, the snake's been fed, I'm having a crazy night of freedom and indulgence. Yeah, on Facebook. Crazy. 6 days ago

It Has Been Written:

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories

And guess what!

Give me all your money:


